How much does it cost to register a car in Florida?

license plates, ceiling, bar-3614254.jpg

With a few exceptions, registering your car costs around $22.50 per year. registering your vehicle requires annual inspections every 12 months, so it could be more expensive if your vehicle needs repairs or cannot be inspected for one reason or another. these are the documents you need to bring with you to register your vehicle in Florida: Proof of ownership (title). if this is not what you have but wish to register anyway, the law states that: “319.28(c) If the applicant for a certificate of title under this section cannot produce satisfactory proof of ownership and right of possession, he or she may submit such evidence as he or she may have, and the department may thereupon, if it finds the evidence sufficient, issue a certificate of title.” There is also an initial registration fee you can read about below.

How much does it cost to get your car registered in Florida?

It all depends on your state of residence and what type of vehicle you want to register in Florida. the basic fees for registration in the state include: $2.50 service and handling fee if printing title, $2 lien recording fee, and a property tax if you move from out of state. Then there is the initial registration fee you can read about below and a discretionary sales surtax applicable if you reside in a Florida county, find out more about this click here.

Title Fees for standard vehicles

Automobiles (Net weight up to 2,499 pounds) $14.50
Automobiles (2,500 – 3,499 pounds) $22.50
Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds) $32.50
Heavy Truck (6,000 – 7,999 pounds) $87.75
Heavy Truck (8,000 – 9,999 pounds) $103.00
Heavy Truck (10,000 – 14,999 pounds) $118.00

How much is first time car registration in Florida?

Initial registration fee is $225.00, which is mandatory for owners that don't have a license plate or record of previously owned vehicle in the state of Florida, in order to transfer to a new vehicle. In addition you will need to provide the following documents:

Note that in some instances you may need additional documentation.

How much is tax tag and title in Florida?

There is a 6% property tax that needs to be paid if you have brought your vehicle into Florida less than 6 months after you have purchased it, you may be exempt if you have used the vehicle outside of Florida for longer than 6 months or if you have paid 6%  in a similar tax to another state. Additional discretionary sales surcharge may apply if you reside in a Florida county.

The title fee will depend on the vehicle (car, truck, motorcycle, etc.), the title fee is $77.25 for cars and other non-commercial vehicles; $10.00 for motorcycles; and varies for certain other types of vehicles,  read more about it above. As for license plates:

  • Dealer and Manufacturer License Plate      $17.00
  • Exempt/Official License Plates                     $4.00
  • Original/Replacement License Plate Fee    $28.00

What documents are needed to register a car in Florida?

You'll need a driver's license and vehicle registration papers.

getting a car registered in Florida is as simple as driving to the town hall (or county office) and filling out some paperwork (i.e. identity proof, Florida Insurance and the application…see above for more detail)  if your vehicle isn't currently registered or smogged, you'll likely be required to do those things first before registering it.

I hope I was able to answer your question! thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.